Logo for N.C. Cooperative Extension N.C. Cooperative Extension Homepage

Meet Our Staff

County Extension Director

Photo of Scott Welborn, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionScott WelbornCounty Extension Director (828) 894-8218 (Office) scott_welborn@ncsu.eduPolk County

4-H Youth Development

Photo of Helen Blackwell, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionHelen BlackwellExtension Agent, 4-H Youth Development (828) 894-8218 (Office) helen_clark@ncsu.eduPolk County

Agriculture and Natural Resources

Photo of Noah Henson, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionNoah HensonArea Agent, Agriculture - Livestock, Dairy, Equine, Forages (828) 255-5522 (Office) nbhenson@ncsu.eduBuncombe County

Family and Consumer Sciences

Photo of Jimmi Buell, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionJimmi BuellExtension Agent, Family and Consumer Sciences (828) 894-8218 (Office) jimmi_buell@ncsu.eduPolk County

Support

Photo of Kerry Jones, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionKerry JonesCounty Extension Administrative Assistant (828) 894-8218 (Office) kjones24@ncsu.eduPolk County

Area Specialized Agents

These agents specialize in specific areas of agriculture and natural resource management and serve many counties. While their knowledge and expertise is available to residents of Polk County Center, they may not be present in the Polk County Center. Please contact the Polk County Center for assistance and initial consultation.

Photo of Brent Buchanan, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBrent BuchananArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Dairy Serves 26 CountiesBased out of Cleveland(315) 212-1277 babuchan@ncsu.eduCleveland County Photo of Richard Goforth, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionRichard GoforthArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Poultry Serves 18 CountiesBased out of Harnett(704) 283-3801 richard_goforth@ncsu.eduHarnett County Photo of Marissa Herchler, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarissa HerchlerArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Animal Food Safety (FSMA Programs) Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Poultry Science(919) 515-5396 marissa_herchler@ncsu.eduPoultry Science Photo of Bill Lord, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBill LordArea Specialized Agent, Water Resources Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Franklin(919) 496-3344 (Office) william_lord@ncsu.eduFranklin County Photo of Craig Mauney, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCraig MauneyArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Commercial Vegetables & Fruits Serves 39 CountiesBased out of Henderson(828) 684-3562 craig_mauney@ncsu.eduHenderson County Photo of Currey Nobles, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCurrey NoblesArea Specialized Agent, Food Safety Serves 49 Counties and EBCIBased out of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Science(919) 515-9520 canobles@ncsu.eduFood, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Science Photo of Elena Rogers, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionElena RogersArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Food Safety - Fresh Produce Western NC Serves 49 Counties and EBCIBased out of Horticultural Science(828) 352-2519 elena_rogers@ncsu.eduHorticultural Science Photo of Debbie Stroud, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDebbie StroudArea Specialized Agent, Consumer and Retail Food Safety Serves 33 Counties and EBCIBased out of Agricultural & Human Sciences(919) 515-9149 dlstroud@ncsu.eduAgricultural & Human Sciences Photo of Amanda Taylor, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAmanda TaylorArea Specialized Agent, Nursery and Greenhouse, Western Region Serves 28 CountiesBased out of Burke(828) 475-2915 amanda_jo_taylor@ncsu.eduBurke County Photo of Mitch Woodward, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMitch WoodwardArea Specialized Agent, Watersheds and Water Quality Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wake(919) 250-1112 mdwoodwa@ncsu.eduWake County